Africa Multiple

Contributions to the Study of Africa and Its Diasporas

The overarching aim of the Africa Multiple book series is to advance the study of Africa and its diasporas through publishing multidisciplinary research. The peer-reviewed series is designed to overcome existing power imbalances in the production and transmission of knowledge in African Studies. Encouraging critical reflections on area studies, the series seeks to set new standards for collaborative research in the field, informed by an understanding of Africa as multiple that emphasizes relationality and reflexivity as its main conceptual approaches. These approaches take center stage in the Africa Multiple Cluster of Excellence at the University of Bayreuth, Germany, which was established in early 2019 with the aim of reconfiguring African Studies in both structural and theoretical terms. It is conceived as a transcontinental network comprising five locations: apart from Bayreuth, these are the African Cluster Centers at Moi University (Eldoret, Kenya), Rhodes University (Makhanda, South Africa), the University of Lagos (Nigeria), and Joseph Ki- Zerbo University (Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso).

The series invites contributions from diverse fields and disciplines, ranging from social sciences, cultural studies and humanities to law, geography and beyond. As part of the programmatic objective of reconfiguring African Studies, we include publications in English as well as other academic languages (such as French, German, Kiswahili, Arabic, and Portuguese).

If you are working on a book that would be suitable for this series, please do not hesitate to contact BRILL Editor Franca de Kort (
Series editors
Prof. Dr. Enocent Msindo, Rhodes University
Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Seesemann, University of Bayreuth

Editorial Board
Patrícia Godinho Gomes, Universidade Federal da Bahia
John H. Hanson, Indiana University
Esmeralda Mariano, Universidade Eduardo Mondlane
Andreas Mehler, Arnold-Bergstraesser-Institut and Merian Institute for Advanced Studies in Africa
Godwin Murunga, CODESRIA
Grace Musila, University of the Witwatersrand
Céline Thiriot, Sciences Po Bordeaux
  • Collapse
  • Expand