International Ford Madox Ford Studies

Max Saunders
Search for other papers by Max Saunders in
Current site
Google Scholar
The controversial British writer Ford Madox Ford (1873-1939) is increasingly recognized as a major presence in early twentieth-century literature.
He is best-known for his fiction, especially The Good Soldier, long considered a modernist masterpiece; and Parade’s End, which Anthony Burgess described as ‘the finest novel about the First World War’; and Samuel Hynes has called ‘the greatest war novel ever written by an Englishman’.
The book series, International Ford Madox Ford Studies, has been founded to reflect the recent resurgence of interest in Ford’s life and work. Each volume will normally be based upon a particular theme or issue. Each will relate aspects of Ford’s work, life, and contacts, to broader concerns of his time.

The series is published in association with the Ford Madox Ford Society.
For information about the Ford Madox Ford Society, please see the website at:
or contact: or Dr Sara Haslam, Department of Literature, Open University, Walton Hall, Milton Keynes, MK7 6AA, UK

Guidelines for contributors to IFMFS, including a full list of abbreviations of Ford's titles and related works, can be found on the website.

General Editor
Max Saunders, King's College London

Editorial Board
Bernard Bergonzi
Laura Colombino
Vita Fortunati
Robert Hampson
Sara Haslam
Samuel Hynes
Thomas Staley
Joseph Wiesenfarth
  • Collapse
  • Expand