Studies in Critical Research on Religion

Series Editor: Warren S. Goldstein
Studies in Critical Research on Religion provides a venue for scholars engaged in critical research on religion. This includes studies contributing to our understanding of how religious institutions and thought may simultaneously serve as a source of domination and progressive social change. We seek to analyze the historical and economic conditions giving rise to religious systems while recognizing that religious ideas can be motivational and therefore dialectically related to material conditions. We are interested in the role that religion plays within social and political conflicts. A critical perspective recognizes that its own intellectual heritage lies within the confluence of various religious, political, and philosophical traditions. It does not reject this heritage but critically self-reflects on its relationship to it. This peer-reviewed book series invites proposals for and submissions of monographs and edited volumes from scholars across all academic disciplines. Works can use a wide range of methodologies, including quantitative, qualitative, and historical. While encouraging works to be theoretical driven by a critical perspective, it is also interested in empirical research which is theoretically guided.

Published in association with the Center for Critical Research on Religion.

Authors are cordially invited to submit proposals and/or full manuscripts to Warren S. Goldstein.

Authors will find the proposal guidelines on the Studies in Critical Research on Religion book series webpage.

The series has published an average of one volume per year since 2014.

Studies in Critical Research on Religion was initially published as a subseries of Studies in Critical Social Sciences; 3 volumes appeared as part of that subseries.
Series Editor
Warren S. Goldstein, Center for Critical Research on Religion (U.S.A.)

Editorial Board
Christopher Craig Brittain, University of Toronto (Canada)
Heather Eaton, Saint Paul University (Canada)
Titus Hjelm, University of Helsinki (U.K.)
Darlene Juschka, University of Regina (Canada)
Lauren Langman, Loyola University Chicago (U.S.A.)
George Lundskow, Grand Valley State University (U.S.A.)
Kenneth G. MacKendrick, University of Manitoba (Canada)
Andrew M. McKinnon, University of Aberdeen (U.K.)
Sara Pike, California State University, Chico (U.S.A)
Dana Sawchuk, Wilfrid Laurier University (Canada)

Advisory Board
William Arnal, University of Regina (Canada)
Roland Boer, University of Newcastle (Australia)
Jonathan Boyarin, Cornell University (U.S.A.)
Jay Geller, Vanderbilt University (U.S.A.)
Marsha Hewitt, University of Toronto (Canada)
Michael Löwy, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (France)
Eduardo Mendieta, Stony Brook University (U.S.A.)
Rudolf J. Siebert, Western Michigan University (U.S.A.)
Rhys H. Williams, Loyola University Chicago (U.S.A.)