Concluding Observations of the UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination

Forty-third to Fifty-seventh Sessions (1993-2000)


The International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination was adopted thirty-five years ago, on 21 December 1965, by the General Assembly of the United Nations, and entered into force on 4 January 1969. It was the first of the universal human rights treaties with a treaty-monitoring body to be adopted and enter into force. At present, 156 States have ratified or acceded to this Convention.
Under article 9 of the Convention, each State party has to submit a report within one year after the entry into force of the Convention for that State and thereafter every two years and whenever so requested. The Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination has been formed to monitor the implementation of the Convention. At its fortieth session, in 1991, the Committee initiated the practice of adopting concluding observations by the Committee as a whole on each report it considered, and at its forty-third session, in 1993, the Committee started to use a standard format for the presentation of its concluding observations. The Committee makes a general evaluation of the report and of the dialogue with the delegation, and it makes note of positive developments that may have occurred during the period under review, of factors and difficulties impeding the implementation of the Convention, and of principal subjects of concern. It also makes suggestions and recommendations to the State party concerned.
The present volume contains concluding observations adopted by the Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination at its forty-third to fifty-seventh sessions (1993-2000).
Foreword by Mrs. Mary Robinson, United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights.

Prices from (excl. shipping):

Add to Cart
Preface. Foreword. United Nations Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination. Concluding Observations. Algeria. Argentina. Armenia. Australia. Austria. Azerbaijan. Bahrain. Barbados. Belarus. Belgium. Bolivia. Bosnia and Herzegovina. Brazil. Bulgaria. Burkina Faso. Burundi. Cambodia. Cameroon. Canada. Chad. Chile. China, People's Republic of. Colombia. Costa Rica. Croatia. Cuba. Cyprus. Czech Republic. Denmark. Dominican Republic. Egypt. El Salvador. Estonia. Finland. Finland. France. Gabon. Germany. Ghana. Guatemala. Guinea. Haiti. Holy See. Hungary. Iceland. India. Iran, Islamic Republic of. Iran, Islamic Republic of. Iraq. Israel. Italy. Jordan. Korea, Republic of. Kuwait. Kyrgyzstan. Latvia. Lebanon. Lesotho. Libyan Arab Jamahiriya. Luxembourg. Macedonia, The former Yugoslav Republic of. Madagascar. Mali. Malta. Mauritania. Mauritius. Mexico. Mongolia. Morocco. Namibia. Nepal. Netherlands. New Zealand. Nicaragua. Niger. Nigeria. Norway. Pakistan. Panama. Papua New Guinea. Peru. Philippines. Poland. Portugal. Romania. Russian Federation. Rwanda. Senegal. Slovakia. Slovenia. Spain. Sri Lanka. Sudan. Swaziland. Sweden. Switzerland. Syrian Arab Republic. Tanzania, United Republic of. Tonga. Trinidad and Tobago. Tunisia. Ukraine. United Arab Emirates. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. Uruguay. Uzbekistan. Venezuela. Viet Nam. Yugoslavia. Zaire. Zambia. Zimbabwe. Annex. International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination.
  • Collapse
  • Expand