Africa Yearbook Volume 2

Politics, Economy and Society South of the Sahara in 2005


The Africa Yearbook covers major domestic political developments, the foreign policy and socio-economic trends in sub-Sahara Africa – all related to developments in one calendar year. The Yearbook contains articles on all sub-Saharan states, each of the four sub-regions (West, Central, Eastern, Southern Africa) focusing on major cross-border developments and sub-regional organizations as well as one article on continental developments and one on European-African relations. While the articles have thorough academic quality, the Yearbook is mainly oriented to the requirements of a large range of target groups: students, politicians, diplomats, administrators, journalists, teachers, practitioners in the field of development aid as well as business people.

Biographical Note

Klaas van Walraven Ph.D. (1997) in Political Science, University of Leiden, is a researcher at the African Studies Centre in Leiden. He has published on various topics in Africa’s international relations, in particular the Organisation of African Unity, the African Union and ECOMOG. In addition, he has written on democratisation and resistance. Currently, he is working on a history of the Sawaba rebellion in Niger (1954-1975). Andreas Mehler Ph.D. (1993) in Political Science, University of Hamburg, is Director of the Institute of African Affairs, Hamburg. He has published extensively on democratisation processes and violent conflicts in West and Central Africa. Henning Melber, Ph.D. (1980) in Political Science, University of Bremen, is Research Director at The Nordic Africa Institute in Uppsala/Sweden. He has published extensively on Southern Africa and in particular Namibia including (as editor and contributor) Limits to Liberation in Southern Africa (HSRC, 2003).

Table of contents

Preface List of Abbreviations Factual Overview I. Sub-Saharan Africa ( Andreas Mehler, Henning Melber & Klaas van Walraven) II. African-European Relations ( Sven Grimm) III. West Africa ( Klaas van Walraven) Benin ( Cédric Mayrargue) Burkina Faso ( Sabine Luning) Cape Verde ( Gerhard Seibert) Côte d’Ivoire ( Bruno Losch) Gambia ( Abdoulaye Saine) Ghana ( Paul Nugent) Guinea ( Mike McGovern) Guinea-Bissau ( Nuno Vaz) Liberia ( Stephen Ellis) Mali ( Walter van Beek & Moussa Fofana) Mauritania ( Nicolien Zuijdgeest) Niger ( Klaas van Walraven) Nigeria ( Heinrich Bergstresser) Senegal ( Gerti Hesseling) Sierra Leone ( Krijn Peters) Togo ( Dirk Kohnert) IV. Central Africa ( Andreas Mehler) Cameroon ( Piet Konings) Central African Republic ( Andreas Mehler) Chad ( Mirjam de Bruijn & Han van Dijk) Congo ( Rémy Bazenguissa-Ganga) DR Congo ( Denis Tull) Equatorial Guinea ( Cord Jakobeit) Gabon ( Douglas Yates) São Tomé and Príncipe ( Gerhard Seibert) V. Eastern Africa ( Rolf Hofmeier) Burundi ( Eva Palmans & An Ansoms) Comoros ( Rolf Hofmeier) Djibouti ( Roland Marchal) Eritrea ( Nicole Hirt) Ethiopia ( Jon Abbink) Kenya ( Marcel Rutten) Rwanda ( Jonas Ewald) Seychelles ( Rolf Hofmeier) Somalia ( Roland Marchal) Sudan ( Albrecht Hofheinz) Tanzania ( Kurt Hirschler & Rolf Hofmeier) Uganda ( Susan Steiner) VI. Southern Africa ( Henning Melber) Angola ( Steve Kibble) Botswana ( Matthias Basedau) Lesotho ( Roger Southall) Madagascar ( Richard Marcus) Malawi ( Roger Tangri & Lewis B. Dzimbiri) Mauritius ( Klaus-Peter Treydte & Uwe Optenhögel) Mozambique ( Joseph Hanlon) Namibia ( Henning Melber) South Africa ( Ineke van Kessel) Swaziland ( John Daniel & Marisha Ramdeen) Zambia ( Gero Erdmann) Zimbabwe ( Amin Kamete) List of Authors


Students, politicians, diplomats, administrators, journalists, teachers, practitioners in the field of development aid as well as business people.