Constitutions of Europe (2 vols.)

Texts Collected by the Council of Europe Venice Commission

Over the last two decades the political landscape of Europe has evolved significantly, with many central and east European countries taking major steps towards establishing more liberal and democratic societies, largely through constitutional change. This unique collection groups together the constitutions of 46 European countries, including all the Council of Europe member states, as well as Belarus, and Serbia and Montenegro, and traces the historical background of each. Presented on a country-by-country basis and highly accessible each section provides maps and key factual data on the country concerned.

This unique reference work will be of particular interest to constitutional law specialists, policy makers, researchers, libraries and all those interested in comparative law and in learning more about the process of constitutional drafting.


EUR €502.00USD $624.00

Table of contents

Volume I: Foreword; The European Commission for Democracy through Law; Albania; Andorra; Armenia; Austria; Azerbaijan; Belarus; Belgium; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Bulgaria; Croatia; Cyprus; Czech Republic; Denmark; Estonia; Federal Republic of Yugoslavia Serbia and Montenegro; Finland; France; Georgia; Germany; Greece; Hungary; Iceland; Ireland. Volume II: Italy; Latvia; Liechtenstein; Lithuania; Luxembourg; The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia; Malta; Moldova; The Netherlands; Norway; Poland; Portugal; Romania; Russian Federation; San Marino; Slovak Republic; Slovenia; Spain; Sweden; Switzerland; Turkey; Ukraine; United Kingdom.