Legislating for Equality

A Multinational Collection of Non-Discrimination Norms. Volume III: Africa

Editors: , , and
Legislating for Equality – a Multinational Collection of Non-Discrimination Norms is a compilation of national constitutional provisions and laws on non-discrimination and the promotion of equality. The aim of the book, divided into four volumes, is to provide a comprehensive overview of the legal frameworks of all UN Member States on matters relating to discrimination on the basis of race, religion and ethnicity, prohibition of hate crimes and "hate speech". Each volume also includes relevant international and regional treaties and ratification tables. The first volume on Europe was published in August 2012. The second volume on the Americas was published in 2013. In this third volume, we turn our attention to the African continent.

Prices from (excl. shipping):

Add to Cart
Talia Naamat, LL.B, Adv. (2004, Bar Ilan University) is a legal researcher in the field of comparative human-rights and international law at the Kantor Center for the Study of Contemporary European Jewry.

Nina Osin, Doctor of Law and Social Sciences (1956, University of Uruguay) and a Master's degree in Library Science and Communications (1976, University of Michigan). She co-edited Legislating Against Discrimination – An International Survey of Anti-Discrimination Norms (2005).

Dina Porat, Ph.D (1984) in History, is Head of the Kantor Center for the Study of Contemporary European Jewry, incumbent of the Alfred P. Slaner Chair for the Study of Racism and Antisemitism at Tel-Aviv University and Chief Historian of Yad Vashem. She has published many books and articles, the most recent of which is the Fall of the Sparrow – The Life and Times of Abba Kovner (Stanford UP, 2009), a 2010 National Jewish Book Award winner.

Foreword by Director-General of UNESCO, Irina Bokova;
Introduction; Algeria; Angola; Benin; Botswana; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cameroon; Cabo Verde; Central African Republic; Chad; Comoros; Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Cote D'Ivoire; Djibouti; Egypt; Equatorial Guinea; Eritrea; Ethiopia; Gabon; Gambia; Ghana; Guinea, Republic of Guinea-Bissau; Kenya; Lesotho; Liberia; Libya; Madagascar; Malawi; Mali; Mauritania; Mauritius; Morocco; Mozambique; Namibia;
Niger; Nigeria; Rwanda; Sao Tome and Principe; Senegal; Seychelles; Sierra Leone; Somalia; South Africa; South Sudan; Sudan; Swaziland; Tanzania; Togo; Tunisia; Uganda; Zambia; Zimbabwe; International Documents; Regional Documents; Tables – Ratification Status of treaties.
  • Collapse
  • Expand