Africa Yearbook Volume 13

Politics, Economy and Society South of the Sahara in 2016


The Africa Yearbook covers major domestic political developments, the foreign policy and socio-economic trends in sub-Sahara Africa – all related to developments in one calendar year. The Yearbook contains articles on all sub-Saharan states, each of the four sub-regions (West, Central, Eastern, Southern Africa) focusing on major cross-border developments and sub-regional organizations as well as one article on continental developments and one on African-European relations. While the articles have thorough academic quality, the Yearbook is mainly oriented to the requirements of a large range of target groups: students, politicians, diplomats, administrators, journalists, teachers, practitioners in the field of development aid as well as business people.
Restricted Access


EUR €135.00USD $155.00

Biographical Note

Jon Abbink works as a senior researcher at the African Studies Centre, Leiden, and as a research professor at VU University, Amsterdam. His interests are political anthropology, ethno-history, and culture and religion in the Horn of Africa (Ethiopia, Somalia). Current research projects are on Ethiopian regional history and livelihoods, the rhetoric and practice of ‘development’, and religion and community formation in Northeast Africa. Sebastian Elischer, Ph.D. (2010) in Comparative Politics, Jacobs University Bremen, is assistant professor of comparative politics at the University of Florida. He is the author of Political Parties and Ethnicity in Africa (Cambridge University Press, 2013). He has published on institutional change, identities and democratization in Africa. Andreas Mehler, Ph.D. (1993) in Political Science, University of Hamburg, is Director of the Arnold Bergstraesser Institute and Professor of Political Science at the University of Freiburg. He has published extensively on democratisation processes and violent conflicts in West and Central Africa. With Henning Melber he is managing editor of Africa Spectrum. Henning Melber, Ph.D. (1980) in Political Science, University of Bremen, is Director emeritus of the Dag Hammarskjöld Foundation and Senior Research Fellow of The Nordic Africa Institute in Uppsala, Sweden; Extraordinary Professor at the Department of Political Sciences, University of Pretoria, and the Centre for Africa Studies, University of the Free State. He has published extensively on Southern Africa and in particular Namibia. With Andreas Mehler he is managing editor of Africa Spectrum.

Table of contents

Preface List of Abbreviations Factual Overview List of Authors

Part 1

Sub-Saharan Africa  Jon Abbink, Sebastian Elischer, Andreas Mehler and Henning Melber

Part 2

African-European Relations  Christine Hackenesch and Niels Keijzer

Part 3

West Africa  Sebastian Elischer Benin  Alexander Stroh Burkina Faso  Daniel Eizenga Cabo Verde  Gerhard Seibert Côte d’Ivoire  Alfred Babo The Gambia  Alice Bellagamba Ghana  Jennifer C. Boylan Guinea  Anita Schroven Guinea-Bissau  Christoph Kohl Liberia  Lansana Gberie Mali  Bruce Whitehouse Mauritania  Helena Olsson and Claes Olsson Niger  Klaas van Walraven Nigeria  Heinrich Bergstresser Senegal  Mamadou Bodian Sierra Leone  Krijn Peters Togo  Dirk Kohnert

Part 4

Central Africa  Andreas Mehler Cameroon  Fanny Pigeaud Central African Republic  Andreas Mehler Chad  Ketil Fred Hansen Congo  Brett L. Carter Democratic Republic of the Congo  Claudia Simons Equatorial Guinea  Joseph N. Mangarella Gabon  Douglas Yates São Tomé and Príncipe  Gerhard Seibert

Part 5

Eastern Africa  Jon Abbink Burundi  Stef Vandeginste Comoros  Simon Massey Djibouti  Nicole Hirt Eritrea  Nicole Hirt Ethiopia  Jon Abbink Kenya  Gabrielle Lynch Rwanda  Yolande Bouka Seychelles  Anthoni van Nieuwkerk and Jon Abbink Somalia  Jon Abbink South Sudan  Daniel Large Sudan  Jean-Nicolas Bach and Clément Deshayes Tanzania  Kurt Hirschler and Rolf Hofmeier Uganda  Volker Weyel

Part 6

Southern Africa  Henning Melber Angola  Jon Schubert Botswana  David Sebudubudu Lesotho  Roger Southall Madagascar  Richard R. Marcus Malawi  George Dzimbiri and Lewis Dzimbiri Mauritius  Tor Sellström Mozambique  Joseph Hanlon Namibia  Henning Melber South Africa  Sanusha Naidu Swaziland  Marisha Ramdeen Zambia  Edalina Rodrigues Sanches Zimbabwe  Amin Y. Kamete


Students, politicians, diplomats, administrators, journalists, teachers, practitioners in the field of development aid as well as business people.