Is There a Text in this Cave? Studies in the Textuality of the Dead Sea Scrolls in Honour of George J. Brooke


This volume is offered as a tribute to George Brooke to mark his sixty-fifth birthday. It has been conceived as a coherent contribution to the question of textuality in the Dead Sea Scrolls explored from a wide range of perspectives. These include material aspects of the texts, performance, reception, classification, scribal culture, composition, reworking, form and genre, and the issue of the extent to which any of the texts relate (to) social realities in the Second Temple period. Almost every contribution engages with Brooke’s own remarkably wide-ranging, incisive, and innovative research on the Scrolls. The twenty-eight contributors are colleagues and students of the honouree and include leading scholars alongside promising new voices from across the field.
Restricted Access


EUR €150.00USD $173.00

Biographical Note

Ariel Feldman, Ph.D. (2009), University of Haifa, is Assistant Professor of Jewish Studies at Brite Divinity School. He has published articles and monographs on the Dead Sea Scrolls, including The Dead Sea Scrolls Rewriting Samuel and Kings: Texts and Commentary (Berlin, 2015).

Maria Cioată, Ph.D. (2010), University of Manchester, is a British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Manchester and the author of several articles on the apocrypha, as well as The Testament of Job: Text, Narrative and Reception (London, 2012).

Charlotte Hempel, Ph.D. (1995), King’s College London, is Professor of Hebrew Bible and Second Temple Judaism at the University of Birmingham, UK. She has published widely on the Dead Sea Scrolls and is Executive Editor of Dead Sea Discoveries (Brill).

Contributors are: Philip S. Alexander, Jonathan Ben-Dov, Maria Cioată, John J. Collins, Matthew Collins, Philip R. Davies, Kipp Davis, Devorah Dimant, Ariel Feldman, Angela Kim Harkins, Charlotte Hempel, Helen R. Jacobus, Jutta Jokiranta, Reinhard G. Kratz, Armin Lange, Hindy Najman, Judith H. Newman, Carol A. Newsom, Mladen Popović, Émile Puech, Jean-Sébastien Rey, Joan E. Taylor, Eibert Tigchelaar, Emanuel Tov, Elisa Uusimäki, James C. VanderKam, Hanne von Weissenberg, and Sidnie White Crawford.