To support emerging scholars, Brill organizes several awards and competitions each year. Below you find an overview of these awards, linking to pages with instructions, previous winners and more.

Scaliger Fellow

Brill works closely with the Scaliger Institute, and sponsors the Brill Fellowship program. One or two Brill Fellows can be appointed each year to conduct research in the Special Collections of the Leiden University Library within one of the publishing areas of Brill in the Humanities. You can read about Brill's work with the Scaliger Institute here. There you can also find further information about the Fellowship conditions and the application procedure.

Brill’s Award-winning Titles


Winner of the 2024 Schulman and Bullard Article Prize

Winner of the 2024 Society for Army Historical Research’s Templer Medal

Winner of the 2024 Joseph Levenson Pre-1900 Book Prize

Choice’s Outstanding Academic Titles (OAT) 2023

Society for Romanian Studies 2023 Book Prize: Honourable Mention

Winner of the 2023 SCSC Bainton Prize for Art History

Winner of the Marthe Engelborghs-Bertels Prize for Sinology 2023

Winner of the 39th Masayoshi Ohira Memorial Award

One of the Best Historical Materials books for 2022 by RUSA, American Library Association (ALA)

Winner of the 2022 Francis Lieber Prize

Winner of the 2023 Menno Hertzberger Encouragement Prize for Book History


Choice’s Outstanding Academic Titles (OAT) 2022

Winner of the 2022 SCSC Bainton Prize for Reference Works

2022 Best Book in Latin American Visual Culture Studies Award from the Latin American Studies Association

2022 Society of Professors of Education Outstanding Book Award

Nachwuchspreis of the Georg-Agricola-Gesellschaft für Technikgeschichte und Industriekultur e.V.

Co-Honorable Mention for the 2021 Book Award by the Society for the Study of Early Modern Women and Gender (SSEMWG)

Winner of the 2021 SCSC Bainton Prize for Reference Works

Winner of the Prix de l'OIV 2021

Winner of the Third Neu-Whitrow Prize

Winner of the MLA Phoenix Award

Winner of the 2021 Early Career Silver Award of the Swiss Academy of Humanities and Social Sciences

Winner of the Societas Linguistica Europaea (SLE) 2021 Eugenio Coseriu Award

Award-Winning Finalist of the 2021 National Indie Excellence Awards—Chick-Lit

  • Film, by Patricia Leavy

Award-Winning Finalist of the 2021 National Indie Excellence Awards—Anthologies

Winner of the 2021 Sheikh Zayed Book Award

Winner of the 2021 Early Career Award from the Narrative Research Special Interest Group of the American Education Research Association

Winner of the 2020 Phoenix Award for Significant Editorial and Design Achievement

Winner of the 'Sormani Prize' for books on Gramsci

Sixteenth Century Society & Conference (SCSC) 2020 Prize Winners

Winner of the Edward L. Dreyer prize for the best article in Chinese military history by an early-career scholar for 2019

Winner of the 2021 Osterbrock Book Prize, awarded by the American Astronomical Society

Winner of the 2020 CEU Award for Outstanding Research

Winner of the 2020 Parviz Shahriari Book Award for History of Math, Science and Technology

Winner of the 2019 International Journal of Marine and Coastal Law Mangone Prize

Winner of the 2019 2019 Judaica Reference and Bibliography Award

Winner of the 2020 Bishko Prize from the Association for Spanish and Portuguese Historical Studies

Winner of the 2020 Verbruggen Prize

Winner of the 2020 Sheikh Zayed Book Award

Winner of the 2020 Sturgis Leavitt Award

Winner of the 2019 Mattingly Award

Winner of the 2019 Dissertation Awards at Tilburg University (first prize)

Winner of the 27th World Award for the Book of the Year in Iranian Studies

Winner of the 2020 Joseph Levenson Pre-1900 Book Prize

Winner of the 2019 European Investment Law and Arbitration Review’s Young Practitioners and Scholars Essay Competition

Winner of the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) Bronze Medal in 2019

  • Ismail Warscheid, on the editorial board of Arabica.

Winners of the Journal of International Humanitarian Legal Studies 2019 Best Article Awards

Winner of the 2019 IJMH Early-Career Paper

Winner of the 2019 Junior Alberigo Award by the European Academy of Religion

Choice “Outstanding Academic Titles” 2019

Winner of the 2019 Brigadier General James L. Collins Jr. Prize for the best book on military history published in 2017 or 2018

Winner of the 2019 Michael Mitterauer-Prize for best monograph

Winner of the 2019 SECAC Award for Excellence in Scholarly Research and Publication

Winner of the 2019 BAS Publication Award: Best Scholarly Book on Archaeology

Winner of the 2019 CEU Award for Outstanding Research

Winner of the Médaille de Chénier 2019, from the Académie des Inscriptions et Belles Lettres

Winner of the 2019 Menno Hertzberger Prize for Book History and Bibliography

Winner of the 2019 Menno Hertzberger Encouragement Prize

Winner of the 2018 Dr. Sona Aronian Book Prizes for Excellence in Armenian Studies, from the National Association for Armenian Studies and Research (NAASR)

Choice “Outstanding Academic Title” 2018

Winner of The Polish Institute of Arts and Sciences of America's 2018 Oskar Halecki Award

The 2018 winner of the Early Slavic Studies Association prize for best new book on Early Slavic Studies

The 2018 Sheikh Hamad Award for Translation and International Understanding in the category of 'Translation from Arabic into English'

The 2018 Josef IJsewijn Prize for Best Book on a Neo-Latin Topic

The 25th I.R. Iran World Award for Book of the Year in the field of Islamic and Iranian Studies

17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography (2018)

The 2018 Iranian Studies Association Saidi-Sirjani Book Award

Winner of the 2017 Association des historiens contemporanéistes de l’enseignement supérieur et de la recherche (AHCESR) Contemporary History Award

The 2017 John Tackray Medal by the Society for the History of Natural History

Choice “Outstanding Academic Titles” 2017

Foundation Council Award of the Georg-August-University of Göttingen Public Law Foundation in the category of “Outstanding Publications of Young Scientists”

The 2017 Syrian Studies Association Prize for Outstanding Book on Syria

Choice “Outstanding Academic Titles” 2016

Forschungspreis der Annemarie Schimmel-Stiftung für Islamkunde 2017

The Gourmand Cookbooks Awards 2017, in the category 'Food Safety'

Caforio prize for the best book in armed forces and civil-military relations published between 2015 and 2016

The 2017 Verbruggen Prize for the best book on medieval military history

De la Court Prize 2016 by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences

The 2016 Conover-Porter Award

The 2nd Professor Josef Kreiner Hosei University Award for International Japanese Studies

Back to top