Brill Transformative Agreements

Information for Authors


Brill has established various institutional Open Access agreements with consortia and leading university libraries across the globe. These agreements provide reading access to our journal portfolio and allow Open Access publishing for affiliated authors.

What do the agreements mean for me as an author?

If you are submitting to a Brill journal and are eligible for a Transformative Agreement, your article will be published in Open Access by default with a CC-BY license.

Agreements are applicable to both Brill’s hybrid and pure Open Access journals.

All agreements apply to: teaching and research staff employed by, or otherwise accredited to the University; as well as students enrolled or accredited to one of the eligible institutions.

All agreements are uncapped, which means that there is no limit to the number of articles that can be published in Open Access under any agreement.

In case of articles published by multiple authors, the corresponding author will be the eligible author.

A full overview of Brill’s journals can be found here.


How does it work?

  • Select ‘Open Access’ when submitting your article via Editorial Manager.
  • Select ‘Apply Discount’, fill out your affiliation details, and benefit from a 100% discount on the APC.
  • Once accepted, your article will appear in Open Access automatically and can be read and downloaded by anyone, anywhere.

For questions on Open Access publishing at Brill please contact


Please find here an overview of all participating institutions and consortia in 2024.

Australia and New Zealand - CAUL Consortium

  • Australian Catholic University
  • Australian National University
  • Commonwealth Scientific & Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
  • Flinders University
  • Griffith University
  • James Cook University
  • La Trobe University
  • Monash University
  • University of Auckland
  • University of Canterbury
  • University of Melbourne
  • University of New South Wales
  • University of Notre Dame Australia
  • University of Otago
  • University of Queensland
  • University of South Australia
  • University of Sydney
  • Victoria University of Wellington
  • Western Sydney University


  • Paris Lodron University of Salzburg
  • University of Innsbruck
  • University of Vienna


  • Freie Universität Berlin

Hungary - EISZ Consortium

  • Károli Gáspár University of the Reformed Church in Hungary
  • National University of Public Service
  • Pázmány Péter Catholic University

Israel - MALMAD Consortium

  • Ariel University
  • ARO Volcani Institute
  • Bar-Ilan University
  • Ben-Gurion University
  • Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • University of Haifa
  • Weizmann Institute
  • Tel Aviv University
  • The Open University

Netherlands - UNL

  • Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Leiden University
  • Open University of the Netherlands
  • Radboud University Nijmegen
  • Tilburg University
  • University of Amsterdam
  • University of Groningen
  • Utrecht University
  • VU University Amsterdam


  • Qatar National Library

Spain - CSIC

  • Spanish National Research Council - CSIC

Sweden - BIBSAM Consortium

  • Göteborgs Universitet / University Of Gothenburg
  • Högskolan Dalarna / Dalarna University
  • Högskolan i Gävle / University of Gävle
  • Jönköping University
  • Linnéuniversitetet / Linnaeus University
  • Lunds Universitet / Lund University
  • Malmö Universitet / Malmö University
  • Mittuniversitetet / Mid Sweden University
  • Örebro Universitet / Örebro University
  • Södertörn Högskola + Röda Korsets Högskola / Södertörn University + The Swedish Red Cross University College
  • Stockholms Universitet / Stockholm University
  • Sveriges Lantbruksuniversitet / Swedish University Of Agricultural Sciences
  • Umeå Universitet / Umeå University
  • Uppsala Universitet / Uppsala University

United Kingdom - JISC Consortium

  • Abertay University
  • Bangor University
  • Cardiff University
  • Edinburgh Napier University
  • Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Glasgow School of Art
  • Heriot-Watt University
  • King's College London
  • London's School of Economics (LSE)
  • National Library of Scotland
  • National Museums Scotland
  • Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh
  • Queen's University Belfast
  • Robert Gordon University
  • Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
  • School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS)
  • SRUC
  • The Open University
  • University College London
  • University of Aberdeen
  • University of Birmingham
  • University of Bradford
  • University of Bristol
  • University of Cambridge
  • University of Dundee
  • University of Durham
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Essex
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Glasgow
  • University of Leeds
  • University of Liverpool
  • University of Manchester
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Oxford
  • University of Sheffield
  • University of St Andrews
  • University of Stirling
  • University of Strathclyde
  • University of the Highlands and Islands
  • University of the West of Scotland
  • University of Wales Trinity Saint David
  • University of York

United States of America

  • University of Chicago


Back to top