Rosalyn Higgins Prize - The Law & Practice of International Courts and Tribunals


In light of her outstanding and inspiring achievements in the field of international dispute settlement, the Law & Practice of International Courts and Tribunals (LAPE) has named a Prize in honour of H.E. Rosalyn Higgins.

The Rosalyn Higgins Prize is an annual prize which awards EUR 1.000 of Brill book vouchers and a one-year LAPE subscription to the author of the best article on the law and practice of the International Court of Justice, either focusing solely on the ICJ or with the ICJ as one of the dispute settlement mechanisms under consideration. The winning article will also be published in LPICT and made freely available online for ninety days to maximize its dissemination.

Competition for the Prize is open to all: scholars as well as practitioners, junior as well as senior professionals. Submissions will be selected via a double-blind peer review process by a Prize Committee, including both co-Editors-in-Chief. (Past) Committee members: Prof. Pierre Bodeau-Livinec (former co-Editor-in-Chief), Prof. James Crawford, Prof. Laurence Boisson de Chazournes, Prof. Dire Tladi, Prof. Attila Tanzi, Judge Joan Donoghue (ICJ), Prof. Serena Forlati, Prof. Makane Moïse Mbengue, Judge Julia Sebutinde, Judge Bruno Simma, Prof. Nienke Grossman, Dr. Santiago Villalpando.

Exceptionally, two papers of an equally high standard can be selected. The Committee is also able to choose not to award the Prize if in its opinion none of the submitted papers reaches the required standards.

To be considered, submissions should be between 8.500 and 10.000 words in length (footnotes included), not yet published or under review elsewhere. Further instructions for authors are available on the journal page.

Deadline for submissions: 15 May of every year.

All papers for consideration of the Prize should be uploaded into the LAPE Editorial Manager system (select “special section” when asked for type of submission). After having uploaded their text, authors are recommended to send an email notifying their participation to Freya Baetens and Régis Bismuth, LAPE co-Editors-in-Chief.

The prizewinner(s) will be announced each September.

Prize Winners

2023: Nikiforos Panagis for his article “Exploring the Limits of the Jurisdiction to Assess Compliance with Provisional Measures”. To be published in Open Access in Issue 23.1.

2022: Juan Pablo Leon Acevedo for his article “Compensation in Cases of Mass Atrocities at the International Court of Justice (ICJ) and the International Criminal Court (ICC)” and Fabian Eichberger for his article “Informal Communications to the ICJ in Cases of Non-Appearance”.

2021: Marco Dimetto for his article "To Fall, or Not to Fall, That is the (Preliminary) Question": Disputes, Compromissory Clauses and Swinging Jurisdictional Tests at the ICJ". Published in Open Access in Issue 21.1.

2020: Marie Lemey for her article "Incidental Proceedings Before the International Court of Justice: The Fine Line Between 'Litigation Strategy' and 'Abuse of Process'". Published Open Access in Issue 20.1.

2019: Callista Harris for her article "Claims with an Ulterior Purpose: Characterising Disputes Concerning the “Interpretation or Application” of a Treaty". Published Open Access in Issue 18.3.