Forthcoming Series: Sources in Early Poetics - Literary criticism from antiquity to the Enlightenment


General Editors: Vladimir Brljak, Durham University, and Micha Lazarus, Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Sources in Early Poetics: Literary criticism from antiquity to the Enlightenment publishes primary sources in literary criticism from antiquity to the Enlightenment. Cutting across established period and disciplinary divides, the series emphasizes both the essential continuity and the inventive range of over two millennia of criticism in the West and its neighbouring traditions. From the Levant to the Americas, from Greek and Latin to Arabic, Hebrew, and the rising vernaculars, Sources in Early Poetics provides a forum for new materials and perspectives in the long, cosmopolitan history of literary thought.

The series publishes editions of single works as well as collections of shorter texts by one or more authors, with facing-page English translations provided for all non-English texts. We also publish English translations of works available in adequate editions elsewhere, but unavailable in authoritative and accessible English renderings. Special attention is given to unpublished, unedited, and untranslated sources, especially those remaining in manuscript.

The series has its origin in Poetics before Modernity, an international project founded by the General Editors in 2016. In addition to sponsoring Sources in Early Poetics and other publications, the project also organizes events and collaborates with affiliated institutions, and is backed by an extensive Advisory Board, featuring some of the most distinguished scholars in the field.

Authors are cordially invited to submit proposals and/or full manuscripts to the General Editors, Dr Vladimir Brljak and Dr Micha Lazarus, or the Publisher at Brill, Dr Kate Hammond. For further details, please refer to the Guidelines for Contributors and the Proposal Form.

ISSN: 2772-9079

Editorial Board

  • Baukje van den Berg, Central European University
  • Elsa Bouchard, University of Montreal
  • Bryan Brazeau, University of Warwick
  • Lara Harb, Princeton University
  • Andrew Kraebel, Trinity University

Advisory Board

  • Gavin Alexander, University of Cambridge
  • Jan Bloemendal, Huygens Institute
  • Rita Copeland, University of Pennsylvania
  • Anders Cullhed, Stockholm University
  • Pierre Destrée, Université catholique de Louvain
  • Kathy Eden, Columbia University
  • Roland Greene, Stanford University
  • Beatrice Gründler, Freie Universität Berlin
  • Stephen Halliwell, University of St Andrews
  • Philip Hardie, University of Cambridge
  • Bernhard Huss, Freie Universität Berlin
  • Ian Johnson, University of St Andrews
  • Casper de Jonge, Universiteit Leiden
  • Pauline LeVen, Yale University
  • Martin McLaughlin, University of Oxford
  • Alastair Minnis, Yale University
  • Glenn W. Most, University of Chicago / Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Berlin
  • Stratis Papaioannou, University of Crete
  • Aglae Pizzone, University of Southern Denmark
  • Filippomaria Pontani, Ca’ Foscari University of Venice
  • James Porter, University of California, Berkeley
  • Panagiotis Roilos, Harvard University
  • Elizabeth Scott-Baumann, King’s College London
  • Peter T. Struck, University of Pennsylvania
  • María José Vega Ramos, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
  • Zhang Longxi, City University of Hong Kong
  • Jan Ziolkowski, Harvard University