Forthcoming Journal: Journal of Urdu Studies


The editors of the Journal of Urdu Studies welcome submissions for the inaugural issue to be published in October 2019.

The Journal of Urdu Studies is a peer-reviewed, academic journal dedicated to the study of Urdu across a range of disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. The objective of the journal is to advance the field of Urdu Studies by publishing superior scholarship, setting and maintaining the highest standards in Urdu-English translation, developing new methods in Urdu research, and providing scholars with resources for innovative approaches to the field. To this end, the journal publishes research articles, translations, review articles, and book reviews. It welcomes submissions in a range of disciplines, including, inter alia, art, anthropology, cultural studies, film and media studies, history, language, literature, philology, philosophy, and religious studies.

Submissions for the inaugural issue should be sent to the Editor-in-Chief, Professor Syed Akbar Hyder, at They must be received by May 15, 2019 to be considered. Submissions received after that date will be considered for the second issue. please find the instructions for authors here:

Call for Papers and Instructions for Authors.

ISSN: 2665-9042
E-ISSN: 2665-9050

Editorial Board

Executive Editors  

  • Syed Akbar Hyder, Editor in Chief (University of Texas at Austin) 
  • Gregory Maxwell Bruce (Berkeley) 
  • Jennifer Dubrow (University of Washington) 
  • Pasha M. Khan (McGill) 
  • Tahira Naqvi (NYU) 

Advisory Board 

  • Muzaffar Alam (University of Chicago) 
  • Kamran Asdar Ali (University of Texas) 
  • Ali Asani (Harvard University) 
  • Elena Bashir (University of Chicago) 
  • Mehr Afshan Farooqi (University of Virginia) 
  • Asif Farrukhi (Habib University) 
  • Shamim Hanfi (Jamia Milia Islamia University) 
  • Ayesha Jalal (Tufts University) 
  • Saleem Kidwai (Delhi University) 
  • Ali Mir (William Paterson University) 
  • Christina Oesterheld (University of Heidelberg) 
  • Frances Pritchett (Columbia University) 
  • Daisy Rockwell (Independent Scholar) 
  • A. Sean Pue (Michigan State University)     
  • Ruth Vanita (University of Montana) 
  • Muhammad Qasim Zaman (Princeton University)