Search Results

You are looking at 1 - 4 of 4 items for

  • Author or Editor: José Luis Egío x
  • Search level: All x
Clear All


This text studies the Speculum coniugiorum, written in 1555 by the Augustinian friar Alonso de la Vera Cruz, a student of Francisco de Vitoria in Salamanca and missionary in different regions of Mexico. The example of the Speculum illustrates the different phases of the School of Salamanca’s distinctive process of producing normative knowledge. In particular, some of the many books that Vera Cruz brought to different convents in Michoacán, originally used in the writing process of the Speculum and preserved as “relics” by later generations, are useful sources to illustrate the Salmantine ars inveniendi: from the rigorous selection, reading and compilation of the relevant auctoritates, to the solutions offered to concrete, local and problematic cases. Vera Cruz’s work shows how the European authorities and normativity the author consulted and annotated were translated into the challenging missionary context.

Open Access
In: The School of Salamanca: A Case of Global Knowledge Production
Over the past few decades, a growing number of studies have highlighted the importance of the ‘School of Salamanca’ for the emergence of colonial normative regimes and the formation of a language of normativity on a global scale. According to this influential account, American and Asian actors usually appear as passive recipients of normative knowledge produced in Europe. This book proposes a different perspective and shows, through a knowledge historical approach and several case studies, that the School of Salamanca has to be considered both an epistemic community and a community of practice that cannot be fixed to any individual place. Instead, the School of Salamanca encompassed a variety of different sites and actors throughout the world and thus represents a case of global knowledge production.

Contributors are: Adriana Álvarez, Virginia Aspe, Marya Camacho, Natalie Cobo, Thomas Duve, José Luis Egío, Dolors Folch, Enrique González González, Lidia Lanza, Esteban Llamosas, Osvaldo R. Moutin, and Marco Toste.