Search Results

Restricted Access

The Fiction of Robin Jenkins

Some Kind of Grace


Edited by Linden Bicket and Douglas Gifford

The Fiction of Robin Jenkins is the first ever volume of essays dedicated to Robin Jenkins (1912-2005), hailed by Andrew Marr as ‘the best-kept secret in Modern British Literature’, and by the Scotsman in 2000 as ‘the greatest living fiction-writer in Scotland […] the Scottish Thomas Hardy’. This new study of Jenkins includes essays across his entire, astonishingly varied body of work. It includes provocative new readings of a range of thematic issues by established experts on Jenkins and on Scottish Literature more broadly. This volume also includes chapters dedicated to individual novels in Jenkins’s corpus, including his best-known work, The Cone-Gatherers, as well as The Changeling, Fergus Lamont, and his posthumous novel, The Pearl Fishers.

Contributors: Ingibjörg Ágústsdóttir, Timothy C. Baker, Linden Bicket, Gerard Carruthers, Cairns Craig, Douglas Gifford, Michael Lamont, Margery Palmer McCulloch, Isobel Murray, Glenda Norquay, Alan Riach, David Robb, Bernard Sellin, Gavin Wallace.