Political Anthropological Research on International Social Sciences (PARISS)


In 2020, individuals will become eligible for a limited promotional period of free access to Political Anthropological Research on International Social Sciences (PARISS). Please be sure to revisit this page to take advantage of this offer.

Political Anthropological Research on International Social Sciences (PARISS) encourages transversal social inquiries. The journal seeks to transcend disciplinary, linguistic and cultural fragmentations characteristic of scholarship in the 20th century. It aspires to reinvigorate scholarly engagements untroubled by canonic approaches and to provide a space for outstanding scholarship, marginalized elsewhere due to academic conventions. PARISS seeks to promote a plurality of ways of thinking, researching and writing and to give access to contemporary authors in the social sciences coming from non-English-speaking countries. The editors encourage contributions that write across disciplines, academic cultures and writing styles. Innovative and collective research is particularly welcome.

PARISS is published in cooperation with the Centre d’étude sur les Conflits — Liberté et Sécurité (CCLS).

The editors welcome individually authored or co-authored articles (up to 3 authors; approximately 7,000-11,000 words including footnotes) and collectively authored articles (3+ authors; 10,000-25,000 words including footnotes), as well as book reviews, interviews, commentaries, and shorter articles focused on research methodologies (all up to 5,000 words).

For editorial queries and proposals, please contact the PARISS Editorial Office.

Prices from (excl. VAT):

Add to Cart

Currently subscriptions cannot be ordered via the webshop. Please contact sales.

Online submission: Articles for publication in Political Anthropological Research on International Social Sciences (PARISS) can be submitted online through Editorial Manager. To submit an article, click here.

For more details on online submission, please visit our EM Support page.

Need support prior to submitting your manuscript? Make the process of preparing and submitting a manuscript easier with Brill's suite of author services, an online platform that connects academics seeking support for their work with specialized experts who can help.

Download Author Instructions (PDF)
Tugba Basaran, University of Cambridge
Monique J. Beerli, Sciences Po, Paris
Didier Bigo, Sciences Po, Paris and King’s College London
Emma Mc Cluskey, King’s College London

Editorial Operations Team
Alvina Hoffmann, King's College London

Editorial Board
Anthony Amicelle, Université de Montréal
Laurent Bonelli, Université Paris Nanterre
Isabel Rocha de Siqueira, Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio de Janeiro
Alexandra Gheciu, University of Ottawa
Elspeth Guild, Queen Mary University of London
Emmanuel-Pierre Guittet, Université Saint-Louis, Bruxelles
Xymena Kurowska, Central European University, Vienna
Jenny Mander, University of Cambridge
Nizar Messari, Al Akhawayn University, Ifrane
Shubranshu Mishra, University of Exeter
Miriam Perier, Sciences Po, Paris
Martina Tazzioli, Swansea University
Hélène Thiollet, Sciences Po, Paris
Anastassia Tsoukala, Université Paris-Sud and Université Paris Descartes
Tommaso Venturini, Centre Internet et Société CNRS

Scientific Committee
Rita Abrahamsen, University of Ottawa
Kopper Akos, ELTE University Budapest
Ruben Anderson, University of Oxford
Arjun Appadurai, New York University
Pinar Bilgin, Bilkent University
Fabienne Brion, Université catholique de Louvain
Ariane Chebel, Rutgers University
Antonin Cohen, Université Paris Nanterre
Karine Côté-Boucher, Université de Montréal
François Crépeau, McGill University
Nicholas De Genova, University of Houston
Mitchell Dean, Copenhagen Business School
Mathias Delori, Sciences-Po Bordeaux
Thomas Diez, University of Tuebingen
Eduardo Domenech, Universidad Nacional de Córdoba
Benoit Dupont, University of Montreal
Greg Elmer, Ryerson University
Martin Geiger, Carleton University
Catherine Goetze, University of Tasmania
Kevin Haggerty, University of Alberta
Monica Herz, PUC-Rio
Jeanette Hofmann, Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB)
Jef Huymans, Queen Mary University of London
Engin Isin, Queen Mary University of London
Vivienne Jabri, King’s College London
Mathieu Jacomy, Aalborg University
Julien Jeandesboz, Université libre de Bruxelles
Niilo Kauppi, Strasbourg University
Oliver Kessler, University of Erfurt
Keith Krause, The Graduate Institute Geneva
Anna Leander, The Graduate Institute Geneva
Ron Levi, University of Toronto
Thomas Lindemann, Université de Versailles Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines
Debbie Lisle, Queens University Belfast
Mikael Rask Madsen, University of Copenhagen
Mark Maguire, Maynooth University
Ivan Manokha, University of Oxford
Valsamis Mitsilegas, Queen Mary University of London
João P. Nogueira, PUC-Rio
Christian Olsson, Université libre de Bruxelles
Mariella Pandolfi, University of Montreal
Mustapha Pasha, University of Aberystwyth
Benoit Pelopidas, Sciences-Po Paris
Ben Rampton, King's College London
Evelyn Ruppert, Goldsmith’s University
David Swartz, Boston University
Mika Toyota, Rikkyo University
Rob Walker, University of Victoria
Michael Williams, University of Ottawa
Biao Xiang, University of Oxford