Editorial Board

Executive Editors
Syed Akbar Hyder, Editor-in-Chief (University of Texas, Austin)
Asiya Alam (Louisiana State University)
Gregory Maxwell Bruce (University of California, Berkeley)
Pasha M. Khan (McGill University)
Tahira Naqvi (New York University)

Advisory Board
Muzaffar Alam (University of Chicago)
Kamran Asdar Ali (University of Texas)
Ali Asani (Harvard University)
Elena Bashir (University of Chicago)
Jennifer Dubrow (University of Washington)
Mehr Afshan Farooqi (University of Virginia)
Asif Farrukhi (Habib University)
Shamim Hanfi (Jamia Millia Islamia University)
Ayesha Jalal (Tufts University)
Saleem Kidwai (Delhi University)
Ali Mir (William Paterson University)
Christina Oesterheld (University of Heidelberg)
Frances Pritchett (Columbia University)
Daisy Rockwell (Independent Scholar)
A. Sean Pue (Michigan State University)
Ruth Vanita (University of Montana)
Muhammad Qasim Zaman (Princeton University)

Journal of Urdu Studies

The Journal of Urdu Studies is a peer-reviewed, academic journal dedicated to the study of Urdu across a range of disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. The objective of the journal is to advance the field of Urdu Studies by publishing superior scholarship, setting and maintaining the highest standards in Urdu-English translation, developing new methods in Urdu research, and providing scholars with resources for innovative approaches to the field. To this end, the journal publishes research articles, translations, review articles, and book reviews. It welcomes submissions in a range of disciplines, including, inter alia, art, anthropology, cultural studies, film and media studies, history, language, literature, philology, philosophy, and religious studies.
  • Print Only €250.00$289.00
  • Print + Online €272.00$316.00
  • Online only €227.00$263.00
  • For further information, contact your sales manager

Latest Issue

Free access
Free access
Remembering Asif Aslam Farrukhi (1959–2020)
Annotated and Translated by Isabel Huacuja Alonso and Timsal Masud Introduction by Timsal Masud
Restricted Access
Author: Ali Altaf Mian
Author: Javed Majeed
Author: Ashhar Farhan