Baltic Yearbook of International Law

Call for papers.

The Baltic Yearbook of International Law joined the family of legal publications in 2001. It is an annual publication containing contributions on topical issues in international law and related fields that are relevant to Baltic affairs and beyond. Each Yearbook focuses on a theme with particular importance to the development of international law. The Yearbook serves as an important source of information not available elsewhere on the practices of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania in international law.
Despite a clear Baltic ownership, the Yearbook aims at contributing to the development of thought, standard-setting and relevant practices throughout the world. The topical coverage has included the questions surrounding the claims of the Baltic States to their State continuity in international law; related issues of State responsibility; various challenges in international human rights law with focus on bioethics and human rights; and the enlargement of the European Union.

The Baltic Yearbook of International Law is also available online.
Lauri Mälksoo (Tartu), Ineta Ziemele (Riga), Dainius Žalimas (Vilnius)

Managing Editor
Ligita Gjortlere, M.Sci.Soc., Riga Graduate School of Law

Language Editor
Christopher Goddard, M.Ed.

Editorial Board
Lyra Jakulevičienė (Professor, Mykolas Romeris University) – Tanel Kerikmäe (Professor, Tallinn University of Technology) – Egils Levits (President of the Republic of Latvia, former Judge at the Court of Justice of the EU) – Mārtiņš Mits (Judge at the European Court of Human Rights) – Vilenas Vadapalas (Attorney at Law; former judge of the General Court of the Court of Justice of the EU) – René Värk (Associate Professor, University of Tartu) – Pēteris Zilgalvis (Head of Unit, Digital Innovation and Blockchain, Digital Single Market Directorate, DG CONNECT)

Advisory Board
Gudmundur Alfredsson (Professor, University of Akureyri; Visiting Professor, University of Strasbourg) – Theo van Boven (Professor Emeritus of International Law, University of Maastricht) – † James Crawford (Judge at the International Court of Justice, the Hague) – Andrew Drzemczewski (Visiting Professor at Middlesex University; former staff member of the Council of Europe) – John Dugard (Professor Emeritus of Public International Law, University of Leiden; Professor Emeritus of Law, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg) – Asbjorn Eide (Founder of the Norwegian Institute of Human Rights, University of Olso) – Christine Gray (Professor Emeritus in International Law, University of Cambridge) – Mahulena Hofmann (Professor, Chair at the University of Luxembourg) – Göran Melander (Professor Emeritus of International Law, University of Lund) – Allan Rosas (Former Judge at the Court of Justice of the EU) – Bruno Simma (Arbitrator, Iran-United States Claims Tribunal; Former Judge, International Court of Justice) – Brigitte Stern (Professor Emeritus of International Law, University of Paris I) – Rüdiger Wolfrum (Professor, Former Director, Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law)