International Criminal Law Series

The International Criminal Law Series contains books, monographs and collections of essays on current issues of international criminal law. Its aim is to advance scholarly and practitioner understanding of the discipline of ICL and its evolving interaction with other legal disciplines on a global basis. The series published an average of two volumes per year over the last 5 years.

Editorial Board

Founding Editor: M. Cherif Bassiouni Editor-in-Chief: William Schabas, Professor of International Law, Department of Law, Middlesex University; Professor of International Criminal Law and Human Rights, Leiden University; Honorary Chairman, Irish Centre for Human Rights, National University of Ireland, Galway; Canada/Ireland Editorial Board: Kai Ambos, Judge, District Court, Göttingen; Professor of Law and Head, Department for Foreign and International Criminal Law, Georg August Universität; Gottingen, Germany Mahnoush Arsanjani, Member, Institut de Droit International; former Director, Codification Division, United Nations Office of Legal Affairs, Iran M. Cherif Bassiouni, Distinguished Research Professor of Law Emeritus, President Emeritus, International Human Rights Law Institute, DePaul University College of Law; Honorary President, International Institute of Higher Studies in Criminal Sciences; Honorary President, Association Internationale de Droit Pénal; Chicago, USA/Egypt Mohamed Chande Othman, Chief Justice, Court of Appeal of Tanzania; Dodoma, Tanzania Eric David, Professor of Law, Free University of Brussels, Faculty of Law, Brussels, Belgium Mireille Delmas-Marty, Professor of Comparative Legal Studies and Internationalisation of Law, Collège de France; former Professor of Criminal Law, University of Paris; Paris, France Adama Dieng, UN Secretary-General’s Special Adviser on the Prevention of Genocide; former Registrar, International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda; former Secretary General, International Commission of Jurists, Senegal Mark Drumbl, Class of 1975 Alumni Professor of Law, Director, Transnational Law Institute, Washington and Lee University School of Law, USA Chile Eboe-Osuji, Judge, Trial Division, International Criminal Court; former Legal Adviser to the High Commissioner for Human Rights, Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights, Nigeria Geoff Gilbert, Professor of Law and Head of the School of Law, University of Essex, Colchester UK Philippe Kirsch, Ad hoc Judge, International Court of Justice; former President, International Criminal Court; Ambassador (Ret.) and former Legal Advisor, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Canada; Sallēles d’Aude, Belgium/Canada André Klip, Professor of Law, Department of Criminal Law and Criminology, Faculty of Law, Maastricht University; Maastricht, The Netherlands Errki Kourula, Former Judge and President of the Appeals Division, International Criminal Court; The Hague, Finland Motoo Noguchi, Legal Adviser, Ministry of Justice of Japan; Visiting Professor of Law, University of Tokyo; former International Judge, Supreme Court Chamber, Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia, Japan Diane Orentlicher, Professor of International Law, Co-Director, Center for Human Rights and Humanitarian Law, Washington College of Law, American University; Washington, USA Fausto Pocar, Judge and former President, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia; President, International Institute of Humanitarian Law; Professor of International Law Emeritus, University of Milan; Italy Leila Nadya Sadat, Henry H. Oberschelp Professor of Law, Director, Whitney R. Harris World Law Institute, Washington University School of Law; Alexis de Tocqueville Distinguished Fulbright Chair, University of Cergy-Pontoise; St. Louis, France/USA Michael Scharf, Dean and John Deaver Drinko-Baker & Hostetlier Professor of Law, Director, Frederick K. Cox International Law Center, Case Western Reserve University School of Law; Cleveland, USA Ulrich Sieber, Professor of Criminal Law, Director, Max Plank Institute for Foreign and International Criminal Law, University of Freiburg; Freiburg, Germany Goran Sluiter, Professor of Law, Department of Criminal Law and Criminal Procedure, Faculty of Law, University of Amsterdam; Amsterdam, The Netherlands Françoise Tulkens, Former Vice-President, European Court of Human Rights; Strasbourg, France Xuimei Wang, Professor of International Criminal Law, College for Criminal Law Science, Beijing Normal University; Executive Director, ICC Project Office; Beijing, China Christine van den Wyngaert, Judge, International Criminal Court; former Judge, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia; former Ad hoc Judge, International Court of Justice, Belgium Gert Vermeulen, Professor of Criminal Law, Director, Research Group Drug Policy, Criminal Policy and International Crime, Ghent University;Extraordinary Professor of Evidence Law, Maastricht University; Ghent, Belgium Giuliana Ziccardi Capaldo, Professor of International Law, Faculty of Law, University of Salerno; Salerno, Italy