Women Writers in History

Women Writers in History focuses on women authors as a category and in particular on the role they were allowed to play in their respective countries, and beyond national borders in the whole of Europe. We expect lots of new data to be discovered that shed new light on this, provided we take as a starting point the contemporary reception of these women’s writings.
Thanks to important efforts in text digitizing, for instance of the early periodical press and of private correspondences, many of those reception data are becoming available. These data start to be used in order to understand the place female authors should be given in European literary history. The series Women Writers in History – created and coordinated by members of the NEWW Network – provides a platform for the outcome of this kind of research.

We welcome research that would not typically concern individual authors, but rather large-scale research, preferably empirical data concerning the reception side of literary communication. Studies should focus on the communication which had been taking place between these female authors and their (contemporary) readers at home and abroad, and provide insight in the position taken by these women.

For more information on the NEWW network (New approaches to European Women’s Writing, created 2005) working group: "Women writers in history" see https://www.dariah.eu/activities/working-groups/women-writers-in-history/, or consult the online tool (http://resources.huygens.knaw.nl/womenwriters), which allows stocking, sharing and analyzing historical reception data.

Authors are cordially invited to submit proposals to the publisher at BRILL, Christa Stevens. Also researchers who are no members of the NEWW network are welcome to submit a proposal.
Editorial Board
Nadezhda Alexandrova, Sofia University, Bulgaria
Hilde Hoogenboom, Arizona State University, USA
Marie Nedregotten Sørbø, Volda University College, Norway
Katja Mihurko-Poniz, University of Nova Gorica, Slovenia
Amelia Sanz, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Beatrijs Vanacker, KU Leuven, Belgium
Suzan van Dijk, Huygens ING, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Advisory Board
Vanda Anastacio, Universidade de Lisboa, Lisbon, Portugal
Viola Parente-Čapková, University of Turku, Finland
Marie-Louise Coolahan, NUI Galway, Ireland
Biljana Dojcinovic, Belgrade University, Serbia
Ton van Kalmthout, Huygens ING, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Ramona Mihaila, Spiru Haret University, Bucharest, Romania
Henriette Partzsch, University of St. Andrews, UK
Kerstin Wiedemann, Université de Lorraine, Nancy, France