The Fiction of Robin Jenkins is the first ever volume of essays dedicated to Robin Jenkins (1912-2005), hailed by Andrew Marr as ‘the best-kept secret in Modern British Literature’, and by the Scotsman in 2000 as ‘the greatest living fiction-writer in Scotland […] the Scottish Thomas Hardy’. This new study of Jenkins includes essays across his entire, astonishingly varied body of work. It includes provocative new readings of a range of thematic issues by established experts on Jenkins and on Scottish Literature more broadly. This volume also includes chapters dedicated to individual novels in Jenkins’s corpus, including his best-known work, The Cone-Gatherers, as well as The Changeling, Fergus Lamont, and his posthumous novel, The Pearl Fishers.

Contributors: Ingibjörg Ágústsdóttir, Timothy C. Baker, Linden Bicket, Gerard Carruthers, Cairns Craig, Douglas Gifford, Michael Lamont, Margery Palmer McCulloch, Isobel Murray, Glenda Norquay, Alan Riach, David Robb, Bernard Sellin, Gavin Wallace.
No Access


EUR €116.00USD $134.00

Biographical Note

Dr Linden Bicket (PhD 2012, University of Glasgow) is a Teaching Fellow in the School of Divinity at the University of Edinburgh. Her first monograph on George Mackay Brown will be published by Edinburgh University Press in 2017.

Douglas Gifford is Emeritus Professor of Scottish Literature at the University of Glasgow. His publications include James Hogg: A Critical Study (1976), and Neil Gunn and Lewis Grassic Gibbon; A Critical Study (1983). He co-edited (with Dorothy McMillan, 1997) A History of Scottish Women’s Writing (1997) and (with Edward Cowan, 1999) The Polar Twins: Scottish History and Scottish Literature. He was leading editor of Scottish Literature in English and Scots (2002), and (with Alan Riach) edited Scotlands: Poets and the Nation (2004). He was till recently Honorary Librarian of Walter Scott’s Library at Abbotsford. He a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh and a Vice President of the Saltire Society.

Table of contents


James Robertson

The Range and Achievement of Robin Jenkins: An Introductory Overview
Gavin Wallace and Douglas Gifford

‘Fresh and truthful eyes’: Jenkins’s Early Scottish Fiction (1950-1958)
Isobel Murray

Ironic Mythology: Reading the Fictiveness of The Cone-Gatherers
Gerard Carruthers

‘To Bring Profoundest Sympathy’: Jenkins and Community
Timothy C. Baker

The Art of Uncertainty: Forms of Omniscience in the Novels of Robin Jenkins
Cairns Craig

Realism, Symbolism, and Authorial Manipulation in The Changeling
Douglas Gifford

Robin Jenkins: Perspectives on the Postcolonial
Glenda Norquay

Robin Jenkins: The Short Stories
Alan Riach

‘Pilgrims of Conscience’ in the Fiction of Robin Jenkins
Ingibjörg Ágústsdóttir

What’s the Story in Fergus Lamont? Or ‘Where was Fergus when Kennedy got Shot?’
Michael Lamont and Douglas Gifford

Confessions of an Unbeliever: Religion in the Novels of Robin Jenkins
Bernard Sellin

‘A Kind of Truth’: Innocence and Corruption in Lady Magdalen and Just Duffy
Margery Palmer McCulloch

The Past Is Not a Foreign Country: Jenkins, Scotland and History
David S. Robb

Reprise or Resolution? A Would-Be Saint and Robin Jenkins’s Final Novel, The Pearl Fishers
Linden Bicket

Old Themes and Self-Reflection in Jenkins’s Later Novels
Ingibjörg Ágústsdóttir

Further Reading


Collection Information