Africa Yearbook Volume 15

Politics, Economy and Society South of the Sahara in 2018


The Africa Yearbook covers major domestic political developments, the foreign policy and socio-economic trends in sub-Sahara Africa – all related to developments in one calendar year. The Yearbook contains articles on all sub-Saharan states, each of the four sub-regions (West, Central, Eastern, Southern Africa) focusing on major cross-border developments and sub-regional organizations as well as one article on continental developments and one on African-European relations. While the articles have thorough academic quality, the Yearbook is mainly oriented to the requirements of a large range of target groups: students, politicians, diplomats, administrators, journalists, teachers, practitioners in the field of development aid as well as business people.

Prices from (excl. VAT):

Add to Cart
Victor Adetula, Ph.D. (1996) in Political Economy and Development Studies, University of Jos, is Head of Research, Nordic Africa Institute (Sweden), and Professor of International Relations & Development Studies at the University of Jos (Nigeria). He was previously Claude Ake Visiting Professor at the University of Uppsala (2013), Head Division of Africa and African Integration at the Nigerian Institute of International Affairs, Nigeria (2012), Nelson Mandela Chair of African Studies at the Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi (2011), and Director of the Centre for Development Studies, University of Jos (1998-2001).

Benedikt Kamski, Ph.D. (2017) in Political Science, University of Freiburg, is a post-doctoral researcher at the Arnold Bergstraesser Institute and political analyst based in Addis Ababa. His research focus is on Ethiopia’s development model, hydro-agricultural development, and politico-economic dynamics across the Horn of Africa. He is a founding member of the Omo-Turkana Research Network.

Andreas Mehler, Ph.D. (1993) in Political Science, University of Hamburg, is Director of the Arnold Bergstraesser Institute and Professor of Political Science at the University of Freiburg. He has published extensively on democratisation processes and violent conflicts in West and Central Africa. He is the initiator and currently President of the executive council of the Merian Institute for Advanced Studies in Africa (MIASA).

Henning Melber, Ph.D. (1980) in Political Science, University of Bremen, is Director emeritus of the Dag Hammarskjöld Foundation and Senior Research Fellow of The Nordic Africa Institute in Uppsala, Sweden; Extraordinary Professor at the Department of Political Sciences, University of Pretoria, and the Centre for Africa Studies, University of the Free State. He has published extensively on Southern Africa and in particular Namibia. He is currently the President of the European Association of Development Research and Training Institutes (EADI).
'We, in this present Journal of Oriental and African Studies, have been reviewing the Yearbook since its very beginnings, [...]. In all these years, the Yearbook has matured and has lived up to the expectations of its inceptors – but most importantly, it has managed to become the living reflection of Africa itself, it has managed to become a unique tool of analysis and information for all the developments in the Dark Continent.
[...] Every Yearbook is at the same time typical of all the other yearbooks and distinct. This has to do with the political and economic developments of the continent’s countries themselves – for example, 2018 was a significant year in African history, as “for the first time for more than a decade, not a single violent or unconstitutional overthrow of the government was recorded”. At the same time, the 2018 Yearbook records all the usual (but also some new) challenges and problems: reactions against the Chinese economic intrusion, internal conflicts, terrorism, desertification and climate change, bending of democratic rules, extreme poverty, lack of infrastructure, corruption, epidemics, but also some faint signs of hope (regional interconnection, infrastructural cooperation, development).
[...] The Yearbook fulfils its mission, as usual, in the best possible way. But at the same time, the Yearbook is something much more than a “simple” yearbook: it is Africa’s ongoing adventure recorder, its novel and its travelogue.

Sotiris S. Livas, in Journal of Oriental and African Studies, Vol. 30 (2021), pp 519-520
List of Abbreviations
Factual Overview (as of 31 December 2018)
List of Authors

Sub-Saharan Africa
Victor Adetula, Benedikt Kamski, Andreas Mehler and Henning Melber

African-European Relations
Christine Hackenesch and Niels Keijzer

West Africa
Victor Adetula

Alexander Stroh

Burkina Faso
Daniel Eizenga

Cabo Verde
Gerhard Seibert

Côte d’Ivoire
Jesper Bjarnesen

The Gambia
Alice Bellagamba

Jennifer Boylan

Anita Schroven

Christoph Kohl

Franzisca Zanker

Bruce Whitehouse

Helena Olsson and Claes Olsson

Klaas van Walraven

Heinrich Bergstresser

Mamadou Bodian

Sierra Leone
Krijn Peters

Dirk Kohnert

Central Africa
Andreas Mehler

Fanny Pigeaud

Central African Republic
Andreas Mehler

Ketil Fred Hansen

Brett L. Carter

Democratic Republic of the Congo
Janosch Kullenberg

Equatorial Guinea
Joseph N. Mangarella

Douglas Yates

São Tomé and Príncipe
Gerhard Seibert

Eastern Africa
Benedikt Kamski

Tomas van Acker

Simon Massey

Nicole Hirt

Nicole Hirt

Jon Abbink

Nanjala Nyabola

Margot Leegwater

Anthoni van Nieuwkerk

Jon Abbink

South Sudan
Daniel Large

Jean-Nicolas Bach and Clément Deshayes

Kurt Hirschler and Rolf Hofmeier

Anna Reuss

Southern Africa
Henning Melber

Jon Schubert

David Sebudubudu

Marisha Ramdeen

Roger Southall

Richard R. Marcus

George Dzimbiri and Lewis Dzimbiri

Sheila Bunwaree

Joseph Hanlon

Henning Melber

South Africa
Sanusha Naidu

Edalina Rodrigues Sanches

Amin Y. Kamete
Students, politicians, diplomats, administrators, journalists, teachers, practitioners in the field of development aid as well as business people.